Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Covid-19 Chinese Msian & Italian Experience

I got this from a friend which I believe is a practical advice to share on adopting new daily habits to prevent COVID-19 it it gets worst.

From a Malaysian stuck in China

Covid-19 Pandemic

For those who didn't know, I've been in China Chongqing all these while when this circus started in end Jan. The whole world was watching China then, and now that China have it under control, we are watching this whole panic thing happening around the world. Maybe I can share my experience how I kept myself safe.

Well first of all, it was not just Hubei and Wuhan that was in lockdown. Basically the whole of China was in lockdown. So the people of Hubei and Wuhan cannot leave their city. While in CQ we can't leave our residential compound. Yup, you read me right. We are given a permit to allow 1 pax from 1 household to exit and enter the residential compound every 2 or 3 days to get essential stuff, depending on how serious the situation is in your area. Everyone needs to get their body temperature checked upon entering any building at any time. And when I say essential stuff it really is essential stuff, back then during the curfew only markets, supermarkets, pharmacies, designated clinics and such are allowed to operate.  So no hanging around,  wandering around the streets aimlessly coz nothing else is open. And if you are wandering around, you'll be strongly advised by the patrolling police to get back home.

This curfew has been for 40days. So yes, we (basically the whole of China) have all been in a curfew/lockdown for that long. And that's billions of people we are talking about. It may be enforced by law, but everyone is willingly and voluntarily isolating themselves. No school, no work! This really is THE WAY TO STOP THE SPREADING!

Isolation and quarantined is violating human rights? Please, what's human right if you end up 6ft under.

And so, if I needed to go out to get essentials this is what I did, and still am doing. I usually just get my groceries that can last 1-2weeks, just so I don't need to go out too often and lower my risk of contraction.  I don't stock up on anything, esp toilet paper ahem...

1. Face mask on (this is strongly enforced here, one can get arrested if they refused to)
2. Have my hand sanitizer and a small bottle of 75% alcohol spray with me.
3. Once I leave my house, If I touch the lift buttons or anything else, I'll make sure to sanitize my hands before I get in my car and start touching everything else. (I refuse to use a tissue or glove cause I don't want to create unnecessary rubbish, I can live with dry hand skin)
* So if you need to take the public transport and need to hold the handles/poles, just make sure you sanitise your hands as soon as you leave the bus/ train.
4. Go about getting my stuff. I don't touch my face especially my eyes nose and mouth when I'm out. If I really need to rub my eyes I will sanitise my hands [see the pattern here?] and use the inner part of my shirt to rub my eyes.
5. Done with shopping. Place stuff in car and sanitise hands.
6. Get home. Wash hands with soap and water, take off mask, bin it or hang it somewhere to air for reuse. Wash hands again!
7. Change my clothes and toss it directly into the washing machine, wash with 60℃ water. Hang my winter jackets in the balcony to air. Shower immediately.
8. Disinfect my groceries, those with packaging and my reusable shopping bags.
9. Disinfect car keys, door handle & lock and my handphones! HANDPHONES PEOPLE!

So, this is my SOP. It really is fairly simple.

1. MASK MASK MASK!!! Seriously! You are protecting yourself and everyone around you. It is contagious even before symptoms surfaces. If you can't get disposable, get those woven sewn with changeable non woven layers. It's available out there. Search for it.
2. WASH your hands and don't touch your MEN (mouth, eyes, nose)
3. Stay away from crowds pleaseeeee.  Limit your activities to need base. One month without social activities really won't kill anyone!
4. Oh right, I no longer use cash in China, it's all e-payment. So if you've handled cash, you know the drill ya. Sanitise! (your hands, not the cash)

It takes everyone to stop this from spreading. If you still think this is just a normal FLU and not taking any precautions, then you really are a danger to the community at this moment in time.

Peace out.  Stay calm.
Malaysian in CQ.
12/3/2020

P/s There really isn't any need to stock up on TOILET PAPER laa !
=======================================================================

I am writing to you from Bergamo, Italy, at the heart of the coronavirus crisis. The news media in the US has not captured the severity of what is happening here. I am writing this post because each of you, today, not the government, not the school district, not the mayor, each individual citizen has the chance, today to take actions that will deter the Italian situation from becoming your own country’s reality.  The only way to stop this virus is to limit contagion. And the only way to limit contagion is for millions of people to change their behavior today.

If you are in Europe or the US you are weeks away from where we are today in Italy.

I can hear you now. “It’s just a flu. It only affects old people with preconditions”

There are 2 reasons why Coronavirus has brought Italy to it’s knees. First it is a flu is devastating when people get really sick they need weeks of ICU – and, second, because of how fast and effectively it spreads. There is 2 week incubation period and many who have it never show symptoms. 

When Prime Minister Conte announced last night that the entire country, 60 million people, would go on lock down, the line that struck me most was “there is no more time.” Because to be clear, this national lock down, is a hail mary. What he means is that if the numbers of contagion do not start to go down, the system, Italy, will collapse.

Why? Today the ICUs in Lombardy are at capacity – more than capacity. They have begun to put ICU units in the hallways. If the numbers do not go down, the growth rate of contagion tells us that there will be thousands of people who in a matter of a week? two weeks? who will need care. What will happen when there are 100, or a 1000 people who need the hospital and only a few ICU places left?

On Monday a doctor wrote in the paper that they have begun to have to decide who lives and who dies when the patients show up in the emergency room, like what is done in war. This will only get worse.

There are a finite number of drs, nurses, medical staff and they are getting the virus. They have also been working non-stop, non-stop for days and days. What happens when the drs, nurses and medical staff are simply not able to care for the patients, when they are not there?

And finally for those who say that this is just something that happens to old people, starting yesterday the hospitals are reporting that younger and younger patients – 40, 45, 18, are coming in for treatment.

You have a chance to make a difference and stop the spread in your country. Push for the entire office to work at home today, cancel birthday parties, and other gatherings, stay home as much as you can. If you have a fever, any fever, stay home. Push for school closures, now. Anything you can do to stop the spread, because it is spreading in your communities – there is a two week incubation period – and if you do these things now you can buy your medical system time.

And for those who say it is not possible to close the schools, and do all these other things, locking down Italy was beyond anyone’s imagination a week ago.

Soon you will not have a choice, so do what you can now.

Please share.
Christina Higgins

No comments:

Post a Comment